8: Comfort Zone – A Random Act of KINDness

One of my most favorite quotes would have to be by Mahatma Ghandi:

change

 

I’ll be the first to admit, I’m not the best example. I try to constantly remind myself of this quote and what it means. It keeps me in check and smiling. So as my first attempt in breaking out of my comfort zone, I tried to be the change I wanted to see. I really wish people were KINDer today. In this modern age everyone is so caught up in their own world that they forget to extend a little bit a of KINDness to others every once in a while. I want my change to be more giving and to brighten up someone’s day without the expectation of receiving anything in return.

Screen Shot 2013-09-23 at 10.50.13 PM

So….I’m taking the initiative to “be the change” one baby step at a time. My first act would be a Random Act of Kindness. The economy is tough these days and students are always looking for the next snack healthy or not. (I posted a note on the KIND bar so people wouldn’t think it was poisonous or a prank. ) I taped this to a vending machine in the library. I didn’t really stick around to see if someone took it or was even happy to come across this or just thought it ws really weird. I didn’t stay because I didn’t want to expect anything out of this act. I wanted to do a small good deed without needing a “thank you” or whatever. I , myself, knew I took somewhat of a step towards adding a little more KINDness to the world (pun intended!) with no motivation of a reward.

The message I really wanted to paste on the bar, but wouldn’t fit lol:

“This is a random act of KINDness, please take this nutritional bar and save yourself some money in this tough economy. I would like to help your health and your wallet. This bar is healthy for you and it’s free. Reward yourself. Hope this brightens up your day and urges you to pass along an act of kindness of your own.”

One thought on “8: Comfort Zone – A Random Act of KINDness

  1. Pingback: Be Kind…Win Stuff | I Love Geekology 101

Leave a Reply

